Log in

USA Yoga is a non-profit organization committed to developing and promoting Yoga Asana (yoga postures) as a sport.

Yoga Asana competitions originated in India hundreds of years ago and are still being conducted there today. USA Yoga is now bringing this spirit of healthy competition to the United States, where, according to the most recent study by Yoga Journal and Yoga Alliance, more than 36 million people practice yoga in the US today. USA Yoga believes that the sport of Yoga Asana will inspire many of these practitioners to improve their practices and encourage many newcomers to take up the practice of yoga and the sport of Yoga Asana.

USA Yoga is developing educational programs, rules and regulations so that the necessary competitive skills can be understood and mastered by competitors, coaches, judges, administrators and yoga studio operators. Successful competitors will need to achieve mastery of physical strength, stamina, balance, flexibility, breath and concentration. Today, USA Yoga sponsors annual regional Yoga Asana competitions as well as a national competition. These competitions are open to competitors from any yoga school or style and all are encouraged to participate. To borrow an ancient phrase, ‘the paths are many, the sport is one.’

Your participation as an athlete, coach, judge, audience member or donor inspires others to practice yoga. With your involvement, you show that Yoga Asana is beneficial for the physical and mental health of all practitioners - children, teens, adults and seniors. You know that Yoga Asana will encourage existing practitioners to sharpen their skills through training, dedication, and devotion to the sport, and will inspire new practitioners to begin a practice which leads to a healthier and happier life. Thank you!

USA Yoga is the exclusive body recognized in the US as the US member federation of the International Yoga Sports Federation.

Upcoming events

    • 20 Jul 2024
    • 10:00 AM (PDT)
    • 21 Jul 2024
    • 5:00 PM (PDT)
    • 8110 Aero Dr., San Diego, California, 92123
    • 62
    Registration is closed

    USA Yoga National Yoga Asana Championship

    San Diego July 19th-21st

    Tickets are free for the event. Athletes who march in the Opening Ceremonies parade get into the event for free. Bring family and friends! If you cannot be there, watch live on USA Yoga's YouTube channel.

    The event is at Four Points Sheraton Diego, 4 miles from the University of San Diego main campus. 

    Schedule for the Championships


    • 4 - 5pm Athlete meeting

    • 6 - 7:30pm Judges meeting 

    • 6:30 - 8:15pm Athlete Parade


    • 7-8:30am / Intermediate Yoga Class in the warm-up room with Cat Koo$10 for members, $20 for non-members

      10 - 10:30am Opening

    • 10:30am - 12: 05pm 50+ Women

      Maggie Anderson
      Myra Aronson
      Ayanna Brown
      Kyle Citrynell
      Darlene DiLorenzo Baldwin
      Susannah Everlund
      Sarah Gnerre
      Lisa Lawrence
      Justine Mancuso
      Joanne Martin
      Daisy Chan Oliver
      Keri Palasz
      Helen Park
      Barbara Randa
      Leesann Shefa
      Donna Stallard
      Maho Tuites
      Dominique Well
      Kristine Williams

    • 12:05 - 12:20pm Break 

    • 12:20 - 12:35pm Scores posted

    • 12:35 - 2pm 18-49 Women ( group A )

    • Janis Bell
      Jessica Amelia Bernstein
      Stephanie Chen
      Alison Colquitt
      Faye Gault
      Kendall Geist
      Tiffany Girgis
      Marcia Hetrick
      Elizabeth "Liz" Homes
      Katy Hoogendam
      Kiri Jewell
      Alice Johnson
      Tara Johnson
      Maggie Julian

      Michelle Machamer
      Jessica McBenge
      Clara McGrail

      2 - 2:15pm Break

    • 2:15 - 3:40pm  18-49 Women ( group B )

    • Briana Miller
      Allie Moscarelli
      Tessa Nesis
      Margaret OMalley
      Kimberly Page
      Efthemia Papadopoulos
      Tiffany Parker
      Jasmine Pinson
      Molly Rooney
      Courtney Schlessiger
      Malory Sforza
      Cheryl Siebert
      Letisha Smith
      Inna Vassina
      Jordan Lydia Verla
      Alexandra Winner-Bachus

      3:40 - 4pm break & Demos Tim Mizerak and Ayanna & Glenn Brown

    • 4 - 4:15pm Scores posted

    • 4:15 - 4:30pm Closing 

    • 5:30 - 7pm Workshop: Embrace, Embody, Empower with Rajashree Choudhury  $50 members / $55 non-members. All welcome!


    • 7 - 8:30am / Open Gym & Qigong @ the Venue ( in the warm-up room, Cost - free

    • 9 - 9:30am Opening

    • 9:30 - 9:50am 12 - 14 Boys

      Subramanean Babu Meiyappan
      Ernesto Betancourt
      Seamus Lee
      Ketan Valluru

    • 9:50 - 10:05am 12 - 14 Girls

      Guia Betancourt
      Soumini Kandula
      Aryana Vanaparti

    • 10:05 - 10:20am 15 - 17 Boys

      Satvik Rachagani
      Suraj Ramesh
      Aadhi Vel

    • 10:20 - 10:40am 15 - 17 Girls

      Gia Gupta
      Ananya Kumar
      Anya Mahesh
      Amisha Poojari

    • 10:40 - 10:55am  Break / Youth demo Liam Luce

    • 10:55 - 11:10am  Scores posted

    • 11:10 - 11:35am  50+ Men

      Ramesh Anji
      Anthony Burkart
      Victor Clement
      Tim Mizerak
      James Pfeffer

    • 11:35 - 11:50am  Break

    • 11:50am - 12:40pm  50+ Women Finalists

    • 12:40 - 12:55pm  Break 

    • 12:55 - 1:10pm  Scores posted

    • 1:10 - 2:25pm  18 - 49 Men

      Rob Bachus
      Ernesto Betancourt
      Quincy Chang
      Roger Chen
      Jack Cox
      George Diamond
      Selden Dickinson
      Ian Johnson
      Michael Lubbert
      David Oliver
      Armando Osuna
      Angel Sandoval
      Jack White
      Jake Wilson
      John Zurek

    • 2:25 - 2:40pm  Break

    • 2:40 - 3:35pm 18 - 49 Women Finalists 

    • 3:35 - 4pm  Demos and Break Michael & Cat, Ayanna, Kendall

    • 4 - 4:15  Scores posted

    • 4:15 - 4:45pm Awards and Closing 

    Locations throughout the city will host 18,000 athletes this July for the biennial State Games of America.  


    The State Games of America is an Olympic-style event featuring competition between State Games medal winners (gold, silver, bronze) from across the nation. There are currently 30 states conducting or organizing statewide sports festivals known as State Games. 

    The State Games of America have been conducted biennially since 1999, with host cities including:

    St. Louis (1999, 2001)
    Hartford (2003)
    Colorado Springs (2005, 2007, 2009)
    San Diego (2011)
    Hershey-Harrisburg, PA (2013)
    Lincoln, NE (2015)
    Grand Rapids, MI (2017)
    Lynchburg, VA (2019) and 
    Ames, IA (2021)

    Sponsored by

    Shakti Activewear, Of the Saints, Superieur, Blaze Yoga Lancaster, Laced by Laju, Radiant Elle, Yoga Factory and thank you to our logo studio host, San Diego Yoga Center.

Contact Us
(801) 648-YOGA (9642)

Address: 487 State Street #2, Portsmouth, NH 03801

Copyright © United States Yoga Federation 2022. All Rights Reserved.      Privacy Policy          Code of Conduct

Upcoming events

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software